PDA

View Full Version : Pvs-14 tips

ace4059
07-09-13, 00:31
I recently purchased a pvs14 and its a nice piece of equipment. I read the manual and it leaves a lot to be desired. What are some tips that you can give me on care and use of it. I understand the tube is sensitive and can be easily damaged. But how sensitive is it? Can street lights damage it or a passing car? Any tips on use or what not to do would be great since I am new to Night vision.

Seagunner
07-09-13, 00:48
Did u ask the guys at www.usnightvision.com?

GTF425
07-09-13, 14:08
I'm gonna use my simple minded grunt mindset and give my experience;

I was issued a PVS-14 in '09 that had been used for 15 months in Iraq and a full trainup cycle before it was mine. I took it through 12 months in Afghanistan with nightly use being either patrols, air assaults, or guard duty. I then used that same PVS-14 for 18 months of pre-deployment training where I beat the hell out of it on jumps, rappelling, falling down hills and rolling because I'm clumsy...all kinds of abusive shit. Also didn't understand what white light did to the tubes and know I ran them on every time we did a shoot house.

They then survived another 10 month deployment to Afghanistan.

The only thing I ever broke was the battery housing cover. I went through maybe 5 of those.

The PVS-14 is "Joe proof", as my dumbass didn't manage to break it over years of what could be called negligent abuse to a private PVS consumer.

Bro, they'll be fine. Get out there and learn how to use them. Practice judging distance, walking through/around vegetation, up stairwells, entering doorways, etc. If it's an auto-gain PVS, then don't worry about the ambient light and stuff like that. Your NODs will survive.

High Tower
07-09-13, 17:56
They are pretty durable. You might start seeing little black or white spots, but they will still work through them.