PDA

View Full Version : Mini-14 reliability...

halmbarte
07-11-13, 13:06
Some video we shot on the 4th of July.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcfqZFWpk9s

TLDR version:
Mini-14 would not work dirty no matter the lube used or dry. Adding more oil got it running again.

H

kest_01
07-11-13, 13:20
There's a reason that rifle isn't considered for serious work

halmbarte
07-11-13, 13:27
I agree completely. But try and tell that to some folks...

Over on Perfect Union they are coming up with all kinds of reasons why that test isn't 'fair'.

H

lunchbox
07-11-13, 13:42
Informative vid.. I only have limited exp with the mini 14, but I thought that they were GTG(non-combat). Have always seen them used as ranch guns, and the design being similar to M14, kinda figured they could walk through the mud with ya. After seeing this and how it handle dirt, meh.. Ranch guns gonna get dirty.

Suwannee Tim
07-11-13, 13:43

One reason of many.

Moose-Knuckle
07-11-13, 16:47
When I graduated HS I was given a Mini-14 . . . several years later I took it to a gun show and sold it, took those funds and purchased an Arsenal SLR-105 . . . haven't looked back. :cool:

They only looked cool on The A-Team.

ST911
07-11-13, 21:11
If you're going to run a Mini...

domestically manufactured, .223 Rem SAAMI spec ammo
OEM 5rd or 20rd magazines
lube generously, relube often
stock a spare FP and extractor

See previous Mini-14 threads for more on the ins and outs of the above.

kest_01
07-11-13, 21:22
Oh the dudes that have Mini's are for sure in love with them, go to the range about a half dozen times a year with a friend that has one( sorry don't know exact model number, but it doesn't matter anyway ) he always has an excuse for his Malf-O-Matic while in that time frame I've had 2 ammo related malfs ( one was a case that expanded and wouldn't extract without a cleaning rod, and the other was a