PDA

View Full Version : New guy from Kentucky

threewulfmoon
07-13-13, 08:35
One of my friends recommended M4Carbine.net as an authoritative source and I have to say that he is right. I'm glad to found a no-nonsense source of information. I've been shooting for years off and on. I lost my first gun collection in a house fire several years ago, went off to college, and lived in a place where I couldn't really shoot, so I was out of the game for a few years. But I realized how much I missed shooting, so my burgeoning gun collection is growing once again.

I decided to see what this black rifle craze was all about, but I didn't know where to start. I have zero experience with the AR-15 platform. After reading here and talking to some of my friends, I realized that some of the "household" names in ARs were more about marketing than quality. Therefore, I decided to go as high quality as I could afford and pick up a Colt 6920 FDE. The fit and finish are just awesome and it has functioned flawlessly in the rounds I have put through it so far. I realize that there's some work to be done (trigger upgrade, optic), but I'm glad that I became informed and spent the extra $150 to get a top tier rifle.

There is a local trainer that offers a tactical rifle course that I plan on taking. Because of my job in emergency management, I can observe and possibly even participate in local LE training. We have a tactical narcotics unit in this county that is very squared away and most of the guys on it are gun nuts who are a wealth of knowledge. Our sherrifs office has just established a special tactics unit as well and they are training a lot. I've been invited me to go shoot with them, but I don't want to be the winner of the infamous "pink bullet award" for the lowest qualifier. I need a little more practice first.

Anyway, thanks for sharing all of this knowledge and experience and Iook forward to learning a lot during my time here!

Wes

Airhasz
07-13-13, 08:38