PDA

View Full Version : Issue with new springfield XDS 45

Bang4Buck
07-14-13, 14:12
I am new to firearms and would appreciate any feedback you can offer...

I bought a s&w m&p 9mm a couple months ago. I have put 600 rounds through it with zero issues.

Decided I will be taking concealed carry class and bought the xds 45 based on rave reviews. Took it to the range and put 100 rounds through it. It jammed 4 or 5 times on me. I would load a mag, rack it, pull the trigger, and nothing happened. Every time I pulled the slide back the round wasn't in straight.

Range officer told me other people have had this issue and these guns need a few hundred rounds or so to break in. He also said to leave the gun with the slide locked back at home for a week or so to keep tension on the spring to help it break in.

He also encouraged me to rack it as fast as possible. I did that, and didn't have any more problems. My concern is this doesn't seem normal. I don't have to rack my s&w m&p nearly as fast, and it has worked flawlessly.

Before you ask, I cleaned the gun per the manual before I took it to the range. It was lubed exactly as shown. I shot federal 45 ammo.

Any thoughts on this? Thanks for helping. New guy!

Kenneth
07-14-13, 15:01
Well it should be common practice to "slingshot" the slide. Grab slide with one hand and push with firing had until the slide is pulled from your weak hand. Don't ride the slide forward on any semi automatic.

Bang4Buck
07-14-13, 15:09
Well it should be common practice to "slingshot" the slide. Grab slide with one hand and push with firing had until the slide is pulled from your weak hand. Don't ride the slide forward on any semi automatic.

I always slingshot it. As I said, zero issues racking the slide with my M&P 9 mm. Treated them both the same, and only the XDS has issues.

dc202
07-14-13, 15:39