PDA

View Full Version : Good deal on a used Remington 700P?

ShortytheFirefighter
07-16-13, 10:57
I'm still fairly new to the world of bolt guns and happened to get a line on a pair of used Remington 700P models, but I thought I'd check in with the experts on here to see if they're worth it or if I'd be better off looking at something else.

The specs on both from what I can tell are that they're standard 700P models chambered in .308. Unknown round count through them, they belonged to a local county Sheriffs Department SWAT team. Both are equipped with what looks to be Leupold VX III scopes, however both are painted so I'm not sure as to any other specs on the scopes. They look to be 26in heavy barrels. No bipod is mounted on either of these.

One has the standard magazine, the other has a detachable mag. I'd be able to get either of them for $850 with the scopes, is this a decent deal for an unknown amount of rounds/history? The bore looked alright, nothing out of the ordinary that I could tell. The bolts also seemed to be in good shape and cycled nicely. The stocks seemed to be in good shape, no major marks or cracks.

Thanks in advance!

T2C
07-16-13, 11:13
You might have to do a little research. Does either rifle have a logbook? You could check the number of rounds fired that were logged. Try to find out what year the agency purchased the rifles and ask a SWAT officer what kind of use the rifles saw. The Remington 700P rifles my agency has have been shot enough in 10 years to require barrel replacement at least once.

There has to be a reason the agency is selling the rifles. I would ask if you could take the rifles to a gunsmith to have the throat erosion measured. Do the scopes have any nicks or dings? Is the glass clear? Are the windage and elevation knobs loose? Can you find out if any of the deputies performed a box test with the rifles to check the condition of the scopes?