PDA

View Full Version : How many rounds of SD ammo should you test in your gun?

Elbowtko
07-30-13, 07:57
Just got a brand new Glock 19 Gen4

Planning on picking up some good self defensive ammo. This stuff is quite expensive, but I don't mind doing what needs to be done which is testing if it really works well in my hand and as well as in my glock.

My question is on avg just how much should I have to fire before I can say its good to go?

Airhasz
07-30-13, 08:04
Ilike to put around 500 through mine till I'm satisfied. Much of it is practice ammo to keep the cost down...ymmv

markm
07-30-13, 08:15
On a glock? None.... maybe when the ammo it due to rotate out... but if unless the thing is choking on ball ammo... I've never found it necessary.

I did run a small sampler platter in my FNX 45 just because I'm not experienced on these pistols.

ImBroke
07-30-13, 08:23
I can't speak for you and your gun... but I will run a full magazine of carry ammo with each of my carry mags on a family that I have never had a malf with (ie, glock 17/26, sig 228/229/220 series). Making sure I shoot two and one handed, etc.

When I got my Kahr CM9 I shot multiple magazines of carry ammo b/c I was not as familiar with the platform and it ended up showing me that I needed to modify my slide release a bit.

C4IGrant
07-30-13, 08:33
Just got a brand new Glock 19 Gen4

Planning on picking up some good self defensive ammo. This stuff is quite expensive, but I don't mind doing what needs to be done which is testing if it really works well in my hand and as well as in my glock.

My question is on avg just how much should I have to fire before I can say its good to go?

As a general rule, I like to run 250-500rds of ball and 25-50rds of carry ammo through any gun that I am going to bet my life on.

So shoot half a box of SD ammo and carry the rest.

C4

STONE-YARDER
07-30-13, 10:18