PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else having hand/finger issues after running a vertical pistol grip???

nickdrak
08-01-13, 20:24
***DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT CLAIMING THAT THESE MORE VERTICAL PISTOL GRIP DESIGNS FROM UMBRELLA CORP OR BCM, ETC. ARE CAUSING ANY MEDICAL ISSUES OR EPIDEMICS. I'M JUST REPORTING WHAT I HAVE NOTICED AFTER RUNNING ONE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD***

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced similar hand/finger pain after running one of the newer style vertical pistol grips that have come to the market in the last few years like the Umbrella Corp or the BCM?

I have been running an Umbrella Corp grip for the past 6 months or so and I began to notice that during/after each range session my strong/shooting hands middle finger 2nd joint gets swollen and painful. It got to the point where I had to have a cortisone injection due to a case of "Trigger Finger" where my middle finger will remain locked after I relax the rest of the fingers. It will then pop back out on its own: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/trigger-finger/DS00155
I was also very painful and stiff for several days after each (Carbine) range session, so due to the amount I shoot it was basically an every day issue for me.

Basically it is the same area affected by "Glock Knuckle". I can only assume that the more vertical angle of the grip which seems to rest all of the weapons rear weight directly onto the affected area (Middle finger/2nd knuckle) since there is little to no weight bearing on the top/web of the hand which might be causing the issue?

The cortisone shot has helped greatly and I have switched back to a softer grip with a more standard grip angle (ERGO) as well and have not had any issues over the past month.

Just for context I shoot a moderate amount of ammo thru my carbine and pistol every month. Typically 200-300rds per weapon system monthly.

Wake27
08-01-13, 20:44