PDA

View Full Version : No 8/3 or 6/3 dial on my colt 6920

Bang4Buck
08-04-13, 21:05
I'm a relative newbie and have read the stickies on Zen of the 100 meter zero and AR trajectories. I'm going to go with the 100 meter zero.

I've noticed my brand new Colt 6920 does not have the 8/3 or 6/3 dial I see in most youtube videos on zeroing. Am I missing out on something since I don't have this? Seems like you guys are using that for a quick adjustment for longer range shots. I doubt I'll ever really shoot beyond 200 yards, but concerns me that I don't have those dials.

Strangely, I also don't have the shorter range aperture I see in most videos. That area is just open and there is a small aperture that can pop up for longer range shots.

Thoughts?

Split66
08-04-13, 21:35
Do you have a carry handle? Those settings are for Elevation on an A2/A3 etc. type carry handle sight. If you have a brand new Colt it will have a magpul backup sight. You only have a windage adjustment on that sight, and you have to set the elevation via the front sight. If that is the case, the methodology of bottoming the carry handle is moot. You would typically only shoot the "irons" with the small aperture ( popped in) for sighting in and general usage. The large aperture (out) is for night or "cqb".

Basically with your sights an easy way to get a 100 yard zero is sight in at 25 yards 1st. Draw a circle apprx. 2" below the center point of aim and work the elevation and windage to get the point of impact hitting the circle you drew while aiming dead center. Then go confirm your zero @ 100 yards. The initial 25 sight in will get things close. Tweak it from there. Focus on getting tight groups, soak up everything you can on sight picture, trigger and breath control, and body posistioning as a huge group will not give you a true zero ( hard to tell which one is the zero).