PDA

View Full Version : AMD-65 troubleshooting

Vintovka
08-06-13, 16:48
To start, I've had this AMD-65 since December of 2010. I've put a lot of rounds through it. My low estimate (counting just cases of 7.62x39 purchased, not counting the many times I've bought 2-3 boxes from Walmart or a gun shop) is 9,000 rounds. This is an absolutely fantastically reliable and durable firearm and this problem is almost certainly regular wear and tear; not any sort of quality issue or defect. It's one of the TGI guns with the Hungarian receiver and Hungarian barrel.

That said, I was shooting it last weekend and had an issue. I was about halfway through my first 30 round magazine and the dust cover popped off. I looked inside the receiver, saw no obvious issues, worked the charging handle a couple of times, and re installed the dust cover thinking that maybe I just didn't fully secure it after cleaning it the last time I shot.

I started shooting again, and a few rounds later, it popped off again. It was definitely totally secure and properly installed before that though. I put it back on, tried a few more shots, and noticed the bolt carrier getting hung up. It would go all the way back to the rear trunion, but would hesitate before going back into battery. I removed the magazine and racked the charging handle. The bolt stayed in the rear position and needed a pretty decent whack to get it to go forward.

So, the bolt carrier is really getting hung up in the back of the receiver and it is causing the dust cover to pop off when fired. Is this a sign of a worn out recoil spring? Would getting a new recoil spring solve this? I can't seem to put together any other answer than that. Thanks for your help.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/528504_448753968471483_1792855941_n.jpg

Vintovka
08-06-13, 16:53