PDA

View Full Version : USP 9c releasing mag during fire

jck397
08-11-13, 19:11
Today I fired my USP Compact 9 for the first time, and had the magazine fall out during strings of fire 3 or 4 times. I believe all 4 times were with the same mag (a brand new factory mag), and usually on the 4th or 5th shot of my string. This was the first time I fired the weapon, which I bought NIB. The only modifications were installing a factory extended mag release, and converting the weapon from DA/SA w/safety to light LEM. I have a lot of experience shooting Glocks, M&P's, and SIG's, but only a few hundred rounds through rental H&K's over the years. My grip was my usual high grip. The ammo used was Winchester Super X 147 gr. and WWB 115 gr.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Is my grip causing the extended mag release to bump during fire? Is there anything else I should be looking at?

Thanks!

(50 rds. Winchester Super X 147 gr. and 50 rds. WWB 115 gr.) out of my NIB H&K USP Compact 9mm. The weapon is stock, except I installed a factory extended mag release and converted it from DA/SA w/safety to light LEM.

MitchK
08-11-13, 22:14
Some folks do have an issue with their finger hitting the release under recoil. Make sure that's not whats happening before you do anything else.

jck397
08-11-13, 23:06
Some folks do have an issue with their finger hitting the release under recoil. Make sure that's not whats happening before you do anything else.

Looking at my finger placement during dry fire, it doesn't look like that's the culprit. The meaty part of my middle finger between the second and third knuckles does push up against the release quite a bit, though.

45C
08-11-13, 23:31
Is the mag seated properly? Mag release installed properly?

jck397
08-11-13, 23:35
Is the mag seated properly? Mag release installed properly?