PDA

View Full Version : First rifle - lightweight build

TAJSport
08-13-13, 18:53
Hey gang,

I've been floating around here for 6-7 months reading, learning and doing research. Ever since the drama back in December, I've been wanting to build a rifle for myself. I'd handled a few other AR's, and decided I didn't want the standard, heavy, over-accessorized rifle with the lights, scopes and lasers.

So I built this:
http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q63/SlammedE30/71A07BA2-BA94-4D61-AE03-1B9515339AEA-4886-0000029156C2D6F2_zps2d095be6.jpg

It turned out pretty light for a 16" barrel
http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q63/SlammedE30/2CD33E74-1A83-4CD8-ACAB-161B3AE87F07-4886-000002960A3DF23A_zpsf242efc1.jpg

The details:
Billet Precision Machined Parts lower
Sleek DPMS upper (No dust cover or shell deflector)
Daniel Defense 16" LW barrel
BCM low profile gas block (carbine length)
BCM H buffer
WMD nickel boron BCG
Griffin Armament compensator
AP Customs 9" tactical free-float hand guard
Geisselle SSA-E trigger
PSA lower parts kit
Magpul BUIS, AFG, MOE grip, and CTR stock

I'll probably add an Aimpoint PRO and some sort of sling in the future.

Let me know what you think!
-Ted

JusticeM4
08-13-13, 19:09
Looks great man. I like the CF handguard.

_Stormin_
08-13-13, 23:55
You'll need to move your rear sight back a couple notches to mount the PRO and clear the rear lens cap with the sight deployed.

With the carbine length gas system on a true 16 inch barrel you may want to swap to an H2 buffer, especially if you end up running hotter ammo.

I also wonder if you can undo your mag release button by a single turn. The catch looks like it's not flush with the receiver, and I've seen issues in the past with mags not easily dropping free due to something similar (or a combination of older eyes and a smaller screen are playing tricks on me).

That said, a neat, and light rifle. How's it shoot?

dentron
08-14-13, 00:06