PDA

View Full Version : Noob Here…First Post…looking to bathe in the wisdom of the AR elders

zhoenixx
08-18-13, 20:13
I am doing my first AR build and have a few concerns before I start bolting this beast together.

1. Looking for any advice or pro tips you can share in regards to the actual build (recommended tools, staking, pin or not-to-pin the gas block, etc…)

2. Also looking for feedback/advice on what I currently have and what would be some solid choices for the remaining parts I do not yet have.

I’m all about the "buy once, cry once", so I’m open to any suggestions.

This is what I currently have:

Vltor MUR Upper w/ Bolt Assist & Shell Deflector
Spikes Tactical Punisher Stripped Lower Receiver
BCM Bolt Carrier Group (MPI) – Auto
BCM BFH 16" Mid Length Barrel, Stripped
BCM Low Profile Gas Block (steel with set screws) 750
Centurion Arms C4 Rail System - 12-inch Mid Length
Griffin Armament M4SD-II Flash Comp
ERGO 2 Grip

This is what I still need to get:

Geissele SSA-E Trigger
Lower Parts Kit
Sling
MBUS

I’m not going to put any optics on it until I learn to shoot it with the open sights.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and if building ARs is as addicting as everyone says it is, I'm sure this is the beginning of a beautiful relationship!

Thanks!

Iraqgunz
08-18-13, 20:20
Components seem to be good to go. Make sure you have the correct tools, inspect all of the parts to include test fitting of components beforehand and ensure that you understand the various torque specs and what not.

Zane1844
08-18-13, 20:38
I suggest this LPK, that includes the trigger you want (and other triggers.)

http://www.gandrtactical.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=GRT-LPK

Also, one thing I looked over when just changing out barrel nuts and handguards was grease. There is a certain one in the TDP, but I just used Coastal Moly grease.

C4IGrant
08-18-13, 21:05
Do you have someone to show you the proper way to asseme your AR?

C4

zhoenixx
08-18-13, 21:21