PDA

View Full Version : Tell Me I'm Stupid or Not - Waffen Werks AK74

cinco
08-18-13, 20:14
Like all of us. Ammo prices are killing me. Thus, I've been looking hard at 5.45x39 so I can shoot. Initially I started looking at an AR based upper - but lack of manufacturers, support and mag issues have me questioning that approach. Any weapon I buy has to first meet the requirement of "would I rely upon it?" I do not want any weapon to simply be a "range toy".

Not being a total noob to the AK system, I started investigating. The majority of reviews are very positive to the Waffen Werks AK-74. Yes I know, US build and US barrel (chrome lined). From reviews, I can't see the justification for an Arsenal/Fime SLG31 based rifle. I have seen one report of bad craftsmanship on a WW but overwhelming very good quality.

I keep wavering between platform familarity vs. reliablity. I think this would be good to practice on an alternate system. I'm willing to learn and master a different platform - which I think is better for me in the long run of defense mastery.

What say you? I appreciate this site's expert opinion. It has led me on a "quality vs. cost" path in the past.

jwfuhrman
08-18-13, 21:41
I've got one and while only having 1500rds thru it as of now I will say it shoots great! Very smooth, reliable. Doesn't like pro mags tho so stick to Bulgarians. Got a couple of 45rd mags for it and a bi pod and dressed it up like a RPK.

Ed L.
08-19-13, 00:14
Waffen Werks is known for making quality guns.

Auto426
08-19-13, 08:43