PDA

View Full Version : zeroing my irons

Bang4Buck
08-25-13, 19:20
I'm new to firearms in general, and just shot my colt 6920 with magpul furniture for the second time today on a 50 yard range. I read the zen of the 100 meter zero sticky and liked it. He recommends a 50 yard/meter zero for irons and 100 for red dot. I like his logic behind each zero. I plan on a red dot soon, probably with an aimpoint, and may also add a magnifier. For now, I'm focusing on getting good with my irons.

You can see the group I shot. Aside from obviously practicing, what else did you do to get good with irons? I saw a thread that talked about getting the smallest front site possible, so it doesn't obscure what you're shooting. Is this, or anything else, something you would recommend to improve accuracy/consistency? And how much tighter of a group can someone really good shoot with just their irons? (Gives me a goal)

Thanks!

thopkins22
08-25-13, 21:37
Good on you for focusing on the irons. A better target would help a lot. In my experience that type of target combined with my vision doesn't allow me a consistent point of aim. Depending on the range, I really like the various NRA bullseye targets. It's probably not a coincidence that they match the width of a standard front sight post.... ;)

How accurate can iron sights be? Well, the smallest groups I've ever shot in my life with the exception of highly magnified bolt actions were with iron sights. Again that has more to do with the way they line up on targets than any inherent accuracy advantages, but you can do better than you were doing.

A good goal is 4MOA with good ammunition. At 50 yards that means 2". Some folks can do better(and it should be your goal,) some very competent people will do worse for various reasons, but in my opinion that's the zone where competence lies for most folks.

So tips...in no particular order.

1)Leave the front sight in the rifle. It's the size it is for a reason.