PDA

View Full Version : Equipment Exchage Theft

onado2000
08-29-13, 07:45
What is someone to do if payment is sent for item on exchange and the other party steals your money (doesnt send pkg as promised ) ? On 8/6/13 I paid $145 for pmags which never came as of 8/29/13; more than enough time to get pkg out. Thanks for any advice and or help offered. ( In all the years buying items online, this is my first time getting ripped off.) Thanks. Dan

Army Chief
08-29-13, 07:59
The first thing that you need to do is to insure that you're actually being ripped-off, and not just dealing with careless or unavoidable delays. Things happen, and sometimes packages don't go out on time; especially when you're dealing with a private citizen and not someone who makes his living selling things online.

Good communication is key, and it is here where most skirmishes begin. "I wrote to the seller, and haven't heard anything back." Happens all of the time. Again, is it that he isn't ever going to write back, or that you might just have caught him at a bad time, and/or are being unrealistic on response times? The questions are rhetorical, but as a rule, losing patience with someone is the fastest way to tank a deal and ruffle feathers. If someone is slow to pay or slow to ship, find a polite way to annotate that in iTrader after-the-fact, but don't inadvertently wander into a private war.

Assuming enough time has passed, attempts at contact have been futile and you are unable to find any other means of reaching the other party of resolving the conflict, then you can PM the Staff to see if perhaps we can reach the other member on your behalf. I suspect we may be nearing that point here, depending upon which steps you have already taken contact-wise. We do not do this as a matter of routine, but no one wants to see a good man scammed and a crook running loose in this community. Sometimes we are able to clear up these kinds of misunderstandings. Sometimes, of course, we are not.