PDA

View Full Version : School me on my Maadi

jhard93
08-30-13, 03:14
hey all, I was wondering if anyone could tell me more about my new Maadi based on some of it's markings.
I haven't got to see it in person yet, so I can't comment too much on fit/finish.:(

Any good/bad things you guys notice? I'm quite new to AKs

I noticed the little gap where the stock meets the receiver, but that doesn't bother me since I'll be putting a folder on it later anyway.

Thanks!

jhard93
08-30-13, 05:04
the silence is deafening

halmbarte
08-30-13, 10:57
The 'other assault rifles' forum is not the most active here.

It's based on a Egyptian AK, using tooling provided by the Sov when they were buddies with the Egyptians.

That gap is supposed to be there. Other than that, it's an AK and will be reliable but not all that accurate. If you shoot corrosive ammo, clean it.

H

7.62WildBill
08-30-13, 11:32
I am assuming that your Maadi is one if the recently built gund that Atlantic is selling with the Arabic markings built on a US receiver with a US barrel. Not as desirable or valuable as an Egyptian built Maadi. I have not heard much on the quality of these guns, most likely due to their "newness" to the market. I have seen some reports of no selector notches, but cannot tell from the pics if your gun has them.

RMiller
08-30-13, 11:35
The 'other assault rifles' forum is not the most active here.

It's based on a Egyptian AK, using tooling provided by the Sov when they were buddies with the Egyptians.

That gap is supposed to be there. Other than that, it's an AK and will be reliable but not all that accurate. If you shoot corrosive ammo, clean it.

H

Some mis information.... But mostly spot on.

AK's aren't as inaccurate as characterized, especially with a foreign barrel. But for the most part Maadi's are good AK's.

SteyrAUG
08-30-13, 16:59