PDA

View Full Version : 3 Gun Noob Shotgun Advice

HokieMike
04-21-08, 21:32
Greetings all. Long time lurker and new member. At the risk of sounding like an AA meeting, I'll start with my (brief) story. I have been a casual pistol and shotgun shooter for a number of years. After really enjoying shooting ARs with a few friends, I bought an AR a few months back. The black rifle disease started! In the course of feeding that addiction, I stumbled on the world of 3 Gun competitions. I came to the Black Creek shoot in March, and was easily sucked into the idea that I might want to get involved with that sport. Which leads me to a shotgun question: What to buy to get started in tactical/3 gun shotgunning? I own a 28" barrel 870, so I could buy a shorter barrel and a mag tube for not too much. I have also been looking at semi auto options. I have a good price on a used 1100 Comp Master, but have been hesitant to pull the trigger with some of the mixed reviews I have read online. I am a noob, so I know I don't need 14/100 cycling time, but a good reliable weapon would be nice. Input would be appreciated.

Also, at the risk of pushing this pos even longer, any of you Black Creek guys that could offer a noob advice on getting started in 3 gun in general and at BC3G specifically would be greatly appreciated. Mike

Buck
04-22-08, 02:25
I’m not a 3-gun guy; but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night...

I would suggest that you hunt around and get a nice used 20 inch IC barrel with rifle sights for your 870, and an inexpensive + 3 extension, and set of lightly used synthetic speed feed stocks... I would then use your 870 until you are so good at 3 gun, that a pump action is slowing you down and keeping you from winning matches, then and only then would I look into a semi auto...

But I would not go crazy buying all new guns when you are still testing the waters...

Just my .02

Buck

rhino
04-22-08, 10:18