PDA

View Full Version : Potentially buying an M1A? Where should I look for info?

Redneck19
09-02-13, 18:24
Alright guys, here's another opportunity to enlighten a newbtard!

I've been keeping my eye on a couple of local deals on SA M1As. I'd really like to pick up a .308/7.62 battle rifle not on an AR platform.

So what are some things I need to look out for? The local picks seem to all be newer, come with original box, etc.

Btw, I did sift through a few pages looking for stuff on this topic and came up empty before starting this thread...
I'm sure there's stuff out there, my m4fu has just failed me.

T2C
09-02-13, 18:40
I have been shooting the M-14/M1A platform since 1980. I am sure there are knowledgeable people on M4C, but there is a mountain of good information on this site: http://m14forum.com/forums.php.

prdubi
09-02-13, 18:58
M14 forum is the key.....

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 4

Army Chief
09-02-13, 19:03
I would have to agree. I do own one, but have left it largely untouched and unused over the years, so I've never really had occasion to drill into the community.

AC

Safetyhit
09-02-13, 19:27
A suggestion would be to seek out critical surplus TRW replacement components via auction sites for any M1A you purchase unless you go with a top tier manufacturer. Even then a TRW bolt can't hurt at the very least.

Army Chief
09-02-13, 19:30
True.

SA actually started migrating away from the USGI parts bin right around the time of the AWB, if I remember correctly. By the late '90s, it seems that commercial components were becoming the norm. Not a show-stopper, but definitely something to consider if you're trying to build up a best-grade rifle without taking the full custom route.

AC

Safetyhit
09-02-13, 19:58
True.