PDA

View Full Version : Shooting Low (Shorter Site Post?)

Mac5.56
09-07-13, 17:56
I consistently shoot low with larger caliber pistols. I've had people tell me my stance is good and they haven't been able to pinpoint what it is I am doing wrong.

I have a large tall build, 6'4" and bulky. Sometimes I'm dead on then I loose it and go right back to shooting low. I am about 1000 rounds into working with pistols and the only thing that is improving is that my groups are getting tighter but are still low.

I'm shooting a new 2013 M&P9mm full size. It has all the improvements of the new M&Ps.

At what point would you spring for a lower front sight post? I am very new to pistols as you can tell, but I have heard mention that this is a possible solution to my problem?

Any thoughts would me much appreciated. I searched for info on this but couldn't find anything, and I figure this is the best location for this question as opposed to in the Pistol specific forums.

zacii
09-07-13, 20:46
Sounds like you're anticipating the shot and pushing the muzzle down at the last second.

Have you done any dry fire practice?

Sent from my Galaxy S2

CougarBlue
09-08-13, 00:55
Sounds like you're anticipating the shot and pushing the muzzle down at the last second.

Have you done any dry fire practice?

Sent from my Galaxy S2

This would be my first guess as well. Have you tried shooting the pistol from a supported position off a bench? Some indoor ranges won't allow this but if you can support the pistol with sandbags and see how your groups look, it could be a quick way of narrowing down where the problem lies.

Personally, I wouldn't mess with the pistol until I was certain it was the sights. I wouldn't want to encourage my bad habits by altering the gun.

Good luck!

AKDoug
09-08-13, 01:00
http://pistol-training.com/drills/ball-dummy-drill

T2C
09-08-13, 03:21
I agree with the advice already given. I would not make any changes to the sights yet and work on technique.