PDA

View Full Version : Spend some money on a bolt .22 or upgrade?

mrvip27
09-08-13, 23:35
I know this is the "noob" thing to do, but I am having a little trouble deciding what I want to do based off what I have been reading.

Do you guys suggest:

A) buy a savage mark II variant or cz 452/455

or

B) upgrade my current 10/22 w/ Kidd auto bolt release, cocking assembly, bolt buffer, mag release and maybe the trigger job kit and/or bolt extractor/firing pin

Thanks!

Maineshooter
09-10-13, 21:20
It really depends on what you want to do with it. If it were my I would go with choice "A." A bolt action opens up more ammo choices, like the new CCI "quiet" ammo that won't cycle in a 10/22. You can't go wrong with either one of the rifles. I have no direct experience with that CZ, but have heard good things about it. The Mark II is a real tack driver for the money even if the stock feels a little cheap. Plus, you won't feel as guilty putting a few dings and dents in the Savage if you are actually going to be banging around in the woods with it.

In the rimfire world, 10/22s are almost as bad as ARs as far as the "improvements" you can make. You can buy a really nice rifle for the cost of a 10/22 "upgrade" if your not careful.

mrvip27
09-11-13, 00:20
It really depends on what you want to do with it. If it were my I would go with choice "A." A bolt action opens up more ammo choices, like the new CCI "quiet" ammo that won't cycle in a 10/22. You can't go wrong with either one of the rifles. I have no direct experience with that CZ, but have heard good things about it. The Mark II is a real tack driver for the money even if the stock feels a little cheap. Plus, you won't feel as guilty putting a few dings and dents in the Savage if you are actually going to be banging around in the woods with it.