PDA

View Full Version : MaTech BUIS removal & installation

Slater
09-20-13, 09:48
I looked up the Army TM online as the manual said squat about this. According to the TM, if you remove the BUIS then a new recoil screw must be obtained before the sight is reinstalled. It has a NSN (5305-01-484-7075), but has anyone had any luck finding a suitable substitute at the local hardware store?

decodeddiesel
09-20-13, 10:13
I removed and re-installed my Matech sight on my issued M4 a number of times for "deep cleaning". I never replaced the screw.

As an engineer I can't possibly imagine why you would need to replace that fastener every time it is tightened, especially at the torque levels a small machine screw like that is going to encounter.

I think you're completely fine to not-replace the screw.

Slater
09-20-13, 10:20
That's cool. The TM says this:

"Recoil screw is mandatory replacement when removed. There is a locking patch on threads of screw."

That's what made me think you had to have a new replacement screw.

JBecker 72
09-20-13, 10:27
It's probably just saying that because the original bolt has thread lock applied. Just use some medium strength blue thread lock and call it good.

scoutchris
09-20-13, 11:04
I looked up the Army TM online as the manual said squat about this. According to the TM, if you remove the BUIS then a new recoil screw must be obtained before the sight is reinstalled. It has a NSN (5305-01-484-7075), but has anyone had any luck finding a suitable substitute at the local hardware store?

As someone who served in the Army, I can assure you that the TM's regarding equipment are not the most accurate, logical, or efficient books to be reading and learning about your stuff. You're G2G.

Slater
09-20-13, 12:13