PDA

View Full Version : AK74 a rational purchase right now?

SpookyPistolero
09-28-13, 10:24
I'm about to take a beast of an exam that I've been studying for for six months, and I'd like to get a treat for myself. I've been thinking about a 5.45 AK for quite some time (probably Waffen Works or Arsenal), something cheaper to feed than my ARs.

My hesitance is only whether this is a wise purchase during such a tumultuous political setting? With the silliness of the arms treaty signing and ability to prevent import of the cheap 5.45, not to mention the lack of domestic 5.45, I'm extremely concerned that I'll drop a grand on this rig only to find I literally cannot feed it within a year.

Is this a valid concern at this time? Is 7.62x39 a wiser choice? Or avoid the foreign calibers all together and save my green....

Thanks for your thoughts.

Wake27
09-28-13, 10:36
Have you read the UN ban? I haven't, but from my understanding it won't do anything to limit the import of foreign ammo. If what I've heard is correct, that is nothing more than a common misconception. There's a thread on here that you should take a look at if nothing else.

amadeus76
09-28-13, 19:22
I wouldn't be too concerned about the UN treaty... A bigger concern and a more likely scenario in my opinion is an executive order banning the import of ammo.

I'm a huge fan of the '74 and the 5.45 round, but I traded off my '74 because I just don't see the longevity of the round long term.

amadeus76
09-28-13, 19:25
7.62x39 is a better choice... There are several domestic ammo manufacturers producing the round.

Shawvez
09-28-13, 21:24
I've heard that the UN treaty banning foreign ammo is an internet legend. The UN hasn't done anything since the "league of nations" days except piss away money. I would worry more about Feinstein and Barack Hussein fear mongering about weapons of war. I doubt 5.45 will be any more limited than any other ammo.

ramairthree
09-29-13, 00:36
7.62x39 was a bargain,