PDA

View Full Version : Shot an AR and a SCAR Today

bjxds
10-01-13, 20:34
I am relatively new to AR's. I shot them many years ago, just for fun when they as well as ammo were dirt cheap. Cheap ones not mil spec, no real problems.

Fast forward many many moons. I decided to get a quality mil spec AR, because the quality vs price was well worth it, couple of hundred $ more. I decided on a BCM- Mid 16. The only reason brand is mentioned is so that the quality of gun is not in question.

After shooting with a friend he really, really wanted an AR too. He was going to get get a bottom line AR, and I told him to do some research and reccommended a quality mil spec AR. After doing research he agreed he could get one similar to mine for a little more than a low end gun.

BUT he decided on a FN SCAR. My opinion was he could save a lot, buy a lot of ammo, and get an AR with many more options available by buying a high end AR as opposed to the SCAR.

After more research he decided on the SCAR, and we shot today, quite a bit.

SCAR 16
well balanced
smooth shooter
accurate

BCM Mid 16
well balanced
smooth shooter
accurate

I don't really know if there was a difference in any aspect between the 2, allthough the SCAR may have been a little softer shooting? Could be the difference between piston and DI?
I wish both had better stock triggers. My opinion is all base stock triggers on all my pistols, rifls, and shotguns are not what I would like. It seeems that is the weak link by all. Don't understand why they can't put better triggers in all these things.

My other buddy says the same thing about the differences between his low end non mil spec AR and my higher end mil spec AR. There is not a big differnce in feel and shootability, but I belviee mine will be more reliable and last longer, as well as I have support from a top quality manufacturer.