PDA

View Full Version : Got my 6920 today

jhfc
10-02-13, 17:07
Picked up my first AR-type rifle today from the local FFL.

Can't wait to shoot it; maybe this weekend if time and weather permit. It's been raining like crazy here.

A couple of questions:

1. I wasn't sure what stock would come on the rifle, mostly expecting the Rogers SS. Instead, I think I have the USGI stock. 3 positions. Did Colt stop using the Rogers SS? I like the factory stock just fine, whatever it is.

2. In the safety and instruction manual, there is a scary warning in orange about the risk of accidental discharge when a round is fed into the chamber (slamfire?), the gun is dropped or the muzzle receives a blow, regardless of hammer position or safety devices. Is this lawyer speak or a risk beyond other firearms? I don't recall similar warnings in other firearm manuals, but my memory is not the best.

Please take all with a dose of vitamin noob. I'm no beginner with firearms, but this is my first AR.

CrazyFingers
10-02-13, 17:43
To answer question #2:
The AR-15 does not have any kind of firing pin capture spring. It uses a plain old free-floating firing pin that slides back and forth when a round is chambered.
No commercially available or military surplus ammunition should present any problems with this, as the primer cup is much to hard to ignite except from a blow from the hammer when fired.
Now, if you were to use reloads that have a soft primer, then all kinds of interesting Bad Things(tm) might occur.

So don't do that. :D

ex95B10
10-02-13, 17:56
Do we get to see your new AR?

Pics or it didn't happen.

Kokopelli
10-02-13, 18:33
Indeed! Post a few pics.. Congratulations.. Ron

Double3
10-02-13, 18:43
The last couple new 6920s I've seen had the standard M4 stock and not the Rogers.

They must have run out of them.

FAB45
10-02-13, 18:50
Pics or a lie :dance3:

Airhasz
10-02-13, 20:57
Congrads are in order on a new Colt. Just another reminder we are waiting on the pics...:D

tog