PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster Carbine - Change Parts?

Low Drag
09-07-06, 20:09
I've heard/read a ton from Colt AR15 fans regarding the other AR makers "low quality". Some folks suggest replacing the some of the "cheap" parts but I've not seen much in the way of specifics.

1) So what parts if any need/should be replaced in a Bushmaster carbine?
2) Why?

I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

M4arc
09-07-06, 20:25
I'm no expert but if I was buying a complete, off-the-shelf, Bushmaster I would do the following:

1) Ensure the front sight isn't canted.
2) Replace the Bolt Carrier Group (BCG) with a Colt or a M16 CMT MP'd unit.
3) Ensure the gas key bolts are properly staked
4) Add a Crane O-Ring or Defender
5) Replace the buffer with an H buffer
6) Replace the plastic trigger guard with a Magpul unit

Some of the optional things I would look at would be:

- Replace the buttstock with a Vltor or LMT Crane unit.

Harv
09-07-06, 20:51
Or another option is to run it stock for about 12 years and run about 12K thru it until something breaks.... ;)

Low Drag
09-07-06, 21:27
Or another option is to run it stock for about 12 years and run about 12K thru it until something breaks.... ;)

That's my original plan, I'd just like to see what the good folks here think should be replaced and why.

I'm big on the why part.

Cameron
09-07-06, 21:30
Or another option is to run it stock for about 12 years and run about 12K thru it until something breaks....

hahahaha :D

Patrick Aherne
09-07-06, 23:09
Buy ammo, take classes and maybe buy some spare parts, like a fitted bolt. If you use a single-point sling, either stake or locktite the buffer tube castle nut. Check your stakes on the gas key. Other than that, shoot the poop out of it. If it doesn't work, send it back to Bushampster and make them fix it.

Lube your rifle, well, with a good lube like Slip 2000.