PDA

View Full Version : FuNG to AR-15

CHawks_12
10-21-13, 20:45
Hi, I am new to AR-15 world outside of the Military, but not new to the weapon system itself. I have been lurking around the forums learning all that I can outside of the Military manuals and et-ups. I have been in the Army for 17 years now and looking forward to the day I can hang up the uniform and contribute to the world in a new way. I am looking for my 1st AR and undcided at the moment if I want to build my 1st or buy complete rifle then down the road build my own. I will thou build my own AR at some point. If there are any recommendations on parts for DIY then I am all earns. I welcome the expertise and knowledge.

LMT Shooter
10-22-13, 04:00
I don't contribute much to the expertise or knowledge, but I can contribute a welcome to you.

jcshelto
10-22-13, 06:25
Hi, I am new to AR-15 world outside of the Military, but not new to the weapon system itself. I have been lurking around the forums learning all that I can outside of the Military manuals and et-ups. I have been in the Army for 17 years now and looking forward to the day I can hang up the uniform and contribute to the world in a new way. I am looking for my 1st AR and undcided at the moment if I want to build my 1st or buy complete rifle then down the road build my own. I will thou build my own AR at some point. If there are any recommendations on parts for DIY then I am all earns. I welcome the expertise and knowledge.

Welcome. I am Active Army, though I'll be dropping my REFRAD pretty soon.

Get a good workbench setup, a decent punch set and an AR mag vice. A Leatherman MUT is good for stuff on the fly.

FloridaWoodsman
10-25-13, 00:50
Since you are already familiar with the firearm and how it should work, I'd suggest going straight for a home-assembled one. I'd wait a bit, though, for prices and availability to return to more normal levels.

britishtq
10-25-13, 01:36