PDA

View Full Version : So am considering replacing my SCAR 17S

MH64
10-21-13, 21:53
Like the title says. Am considering replacing my SCAR 17S and going with an AR style 308 instead.
Currently considering the following.

Colt LE-901S
Sig 716
SW M&P 10

Primarily thinking of doing this to keep a system that would be much closer in operation to my other AR15 rifles and to move to the more standard SR25 style 308 magazines, such as the Magpul 308 magazines.

Really like my SCAR but I can't keep everything that I like. So it would get sold/traded.

Thoughts/opinions on this idea?

w3453l
10-21-13, 22:45
I'm actually looking at buying either a PWS MK216 or a SCAR 17 right now. I have no experience with either of them. I'm interested to hear everyone's opinions on the SCAR though.

The mag thing is the one thing that keeps me back, but SCAR mags are becoming more common right now. If there was a SR25 mag compatible lower that was perfected than that would solve all concerns.

I just don't know if I can trust the new lowers.

kevN
10-21-13, 23:58
I'd go with KAC, or LMT.

LowSpeed_HighDrag
10-22-13, 02:20
What is your budget?

Oh, and "Am..." does not ever replace "I am..."

RHINOWSO
10-22-13, 07:44
I wouldn't trade my 17 for any of the rifles you have listed.

Now maybe a LMT MWS, KAC SR-25, or a GAP-10...

scooter22
10-22-13, 07:59
I'd go with KAC, or LMT.

This. I couldn't imagine getting rid if a SCAR and going with one of the options you listed.

ryr8828
10-22-13, 08:00
Magpul 308 mags were as non existent as scar mags for quite some time.
I've found nothing about my scar17 that makes me want to sell it and get another .308.

MH64
10-22-13, 12:36
Thanks for all the feedback guys.

Oh and Low speed High drag, thanks for the grammer check...

PatrioticDisorder
10-22-13, 13:06
I wouldn't trade my 17 for any of the rifles you have listed.

Now maybe a LMT MWS, KAC SR-25, or a GAP-10...