PDA

View Full Version : Atlas Bipod Review

Quiet Riot
10-25-13, 04:37
I've been using the Atlas bipod with the ADM mount for about two months, and I'm glad I went with it.

The thing that surprises most people is how light these really are. They are well-built and beefy-looking, but an Atlas with the ADM mount weighs *less* than a stock Harris BRS, and that's even without adding a QD pan mount to the Harris.

These do take a little longer to deploy than a Harris because the legs aren't spring loaded. This can be an issue in something like a 3-gun match where a few seconds are significant, but it really isn't even a consideration for most types of shooting.

Though the Harris bipods are time tested, the Atlas has shown itself to be worth the premium for the kind of shooting I like to do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mm-9tzaaHXI

T2C
10-25-13, 06:29
I have been using a Harris bipod for a few years and have been considering the Atlas as an alternative.

The square flat feet appear to be more stable than the rounded rubber feet on my Harris bipod. If I did want rubber on the bottom of flat bipod feet, it would be easy to glue flat pieces of rubber on them.

Where did you purchase your Atlas bipod?

Quiet Riot
10-25-13, 07:05
I got it directly from B&T. You don't really see them discounted anywhere. Interestingly enough, B&T just announced yesterday that LaRue is now selling them with their QD mount for the same price as the ADM version.

dcnyli
11-05-13, 05:54
thank you for the review, I was curious about Atlas for my next build..

FromMyColdDeadHand
11-05-13, 11:47
I agree on the speed to deploy. I think the major advantage for most applications is that it seems to take pre-load as I lean into the rifle a bot better than the Harris bipods. That little bit of play with the ball mount.

lifebreath
11-05-13, 16:52