PDA

View Full Version : New to AR platform

Twosocks
10-25-13, 18:44
Ok I don't want this to turn into a brand z is better than brand a but I'm new to ARs have never owned one. Been looking at the Stag Arms 8t and the Windham Weaponry CDI. I don't want to spend over $1200.00. The rifle will be primarily a plinker and home defense weapon. Maybe hunt some coyotes out to 100 yards, I have a 243 for longer distance. First off, piston or Direct impingement, second, of the two weapons named those of you who have experience with either the pros and cons of each. I want battle sights and some rails and don't want to have to do a lots to the weapons as to adding things until I get to know the platform. I really like the Diamondhead forearm on the Stag and the Diamondhead sights and can get it in either piston or direct impingement. Just looking for a little advice. Thanks

Boba Fett v2
10-25-13, 18:47
For the money you're willing to spend consider a Colt instead. Stick with DI.

Sent from my ZTE V768 using Tapatalk 2

Ryno12
10-25-13, 18:47
Welcome. Do some searching, this has been asked a thousand times. For that price you can buy many, better brands.
Colt, BCM, Noveske... among others.

Sent via Tapatalk

strambo
10-25-13, 18:56
DI

For a probably better rifle than the Stag or Windham, you could just mail order a PSA kit of your choice and buy a stripped lower at your LGS. This would cost less also.

http://palmettostatearmory.com/index.php/ar-15-05/rifle-kits.html

At the $1200 mark, you can get a Colt 6920 MOE or mate a lower with a complete BCM upper.

They all look the same, but the better brands will make the critical barrel and bolt out of the proper materials and do the proper QA testing and other things like proper staking. For a hobby gun, rarely shot, it may not matter. For a home defense gun, it may (and at the worse moment!)

$1200 will buy a lot of (quality) AR with good research. Or...it could get a crappy base AR with unnecessary extras.

bowietx