PDA

View Full Version : Hunters: Still Hunting - Books/Resources?

Gutshot John
05-04-08, 18:28
Hunters, especially bow hunters...

I'm looking for a good book (or other resources) on still-hunting. I'm not a novice, but I've got a lot to learn.

Any suggestions?

Safetyhit
05-04-08, 19:11
While bow hunting may the better legal way to go here in N.J. for deer these days, sadly I can't offer you a good book.

That said, I have some tips...

Manage your scent as best you can, and always know the wind direction. Try to establish your stand in a favorable area as far as "regular" wind direction and animal traffic.

Stay as still as possible. Aim well and stabilize. Take quality shots or you could be chasing bloodtrails for days, to no avail.

Good luck pal.

:D

Gutshot John
05-04-08, 19:21
In terms of scent control... do you use scent control clothing (charcoal/silver lining?) or just wash regular camo in appropriate detergent and rely on charcoal spray?

Safetyhit
05-04-08, 20:04
In terms of scent control... do you use scent control clothing (charcoal/silver lining?) or just wash regular camo in appropriate detergent and rely on charcoal spray?

:confused:

At a whopping 39yrs that is after my time, as I haven't bow hunted since the 90's and have no clue what charcoal spray is. I remember sprays that smelled like either urine or shit, though. Regardless I am not sure any of them are necessary if you know what you are doing. I do know what charcoal lining can do, but it is less than fundamental.

Remember that our ancestors lived without our compound bows and scents, but still kept humanity going strong. You just need good technique. Worked for me more than once on my family's old farm I assure you, with both bow and shotgun.

Gutshot John
05-04-08, 20:12