PDA

View Full Version : Tuning issue

jwreck
11-13-13, 14:19
So, I built myself what amounts to basically a DPMS Tactical 16. 16" bull barrel with a 20" gas system. I have an SA chrome BCG, A2 stock and rifle buffer. Shoots fine and ejects to about 3-4 o'clock. However, it often fails to lock open on the last round. Looking for ideas to fix this. Thinking of either changing to a carbine buffer (maybe an H2?), or lightening the rifle length buffer. Thoughts?

mtdawg169
11-13-13, 14:30
So you've got a 16" barrel with a rifle length gas system? What is the port size?

jwreck
11-13-13, 14:52
.113 inch according to DPMS. I really think the issue is on the back end, considering the only failure is failure to lock open on the last round, but I'm still pretty new at this.

MSpera
11-13-13, 14:55
What ammo are you using?

jwreck
11-13-13, 15:09
Range reloads mostly, which I figure will probably be the weakest ammo I'll run which is what I think should be the minimum test for functioning.

mtdawg169
11-13-13, 15:19
.113 inch according to DPMS. I really think the issue is on the back end, considering the only failure is failure to lock open on the last round, but I'm still pretty new at this.

All diagnostic issues start at the gas port. The buffer changes required to make it run are just treating the symptoms. With that said, the port size is what it is, so you have no choice but to try a different buffer. The A5 system with a -1 buffer may work.

ETA: I'd also like to know what ammo you're using. The gas system set up you have is going to be sensitive to lower pressure ammo.

mtdawg169
11-13-13, 15:22
Range reloads mostly, which I figure will probably be the weakest ammo I'll run which is what I think should be the minimum test for functioning.

Unless you loaded them, they are not going to be a reliable indicator at all. You need to try it with a known good factory load, even if it is relatively weak like PMC.

kwelz
11-13-13, 17:20