PDA

View Full Version : Talk me out of a TA33

jerhelo
11-18-13, 01:05
Want a TA33, talk me out of it. Are they any real negative cons to the optic. I have a couple of TA31's and TA11's. Want a TA33 for a colt upper with front sight block. YEAH or NEAH???

Koshinn
11-18-13, 01:32
It's the best ACOG imo. If it was AA powered instead of fiber/tritium, I think it'd be a lot better.

A vortex 1-4 has more utility and is cheaper, but is heavier, larger, and doesn't have daylight visible illumination.

IndianaBoy
11-18-13, 13:10
I had a TA33. It was a great optic. I switched to a Vortex Razor 1-6 to gain magnification, 1x, a finer reticle.

I miss the light weight of the TA33. It's a fantastic all-around optic but it does have some limitations. I think for comparable cost I would rather have a 1-4x vortex now that I have some experience with a quality variable.

Doc Safari
11-18-13, 14:27
I don't have personal experience with that particular model number, but I've used ACOG's before and I just HATE THEM. The two or three I've actually had to sight through at the range required you to have your nose to the charging handle on the rifle in order to get rid of the parallax. Somebody at Trijicon needs to increase the eye relief on their optics YESTERDAY. One was a TA31 and the other was the 'miniature' ACOG (can't remember the model right now).

I also noticed that they require you to mount them pretty far back on the gun's rail, negating all but a small universe of folding backup rear sights that will mount in the last slot with the ACOG in place. In fact, I can't remember if I would have had to remove the ACOG to use the BUIS or not--it's been that long.

I actually got rid of my miniature ACOG to buy my first Aimpoint T1 and haven't looked back.

nimdabew
11-18-13, 14:42
The TA33 doesn't have most of the problems that Doc describes. It sounds like he was using a TA31 (had ond, sold it).