PDA

View Full Version : Optic for Marlin 336 (Whitetail NE Forest)

Mac5.56
12-05-13, 22:46
I didn't want to pose this question on the Optics sub-forum because it isn't related to an M4 and I didn't want to clutter that area up, but if the mods feel it is better suited for that forum and I will get more hits let's move it on over there...

Anyway, here's the backstory. I've been hunting the NY forests with my Marlin 336 for several years now and I love the gun for both this environment and the game I am hunting. I've pulled deer, it is very quick for me to shoot, and it's perfect for this environment as I seldom have shots that stretch out past 75 yards. This year however was the first year I debated investing in an optic, and these are the two reasons I'm considering glassing my brush gun:

1. I'm having a bit of an issue with lining up my sight posts when the light conditions are optimally bad right at dawn. You know that nice neutral grey/blue almost fog that is optimal for deer and hard for you and me. This is where a Red Dot would excel, I would have a full freezer x3 this season and a small little rack for the birds to munch on over the winter, but....:

2. I hunt in an antler restricted zone that extends well beyond what I am reasonably capable of driving out of. The antler restriction is needed in my area, but this is the first year I experienced how much of a pain in the ass it can be. The restriction is: Deer must have one antler with at least 3 tines over 1" long.

Here's the condition I want to optimize: Glassing deer in low light, lots of over growth, possibly a need for a really quick shot, and the above antler restrictions.