PDA

View Full Version : Best barrel for kiss build with A2 upper

blackhawktech
12-09-13, 08:59
I have a Bushmaster A2 upper and a Anderson arms lower. I want to build a kiss AR that will be reliable and accurate. What is the best barrel quality barrel that want break the bank. All my other AR's are flat tops with free float rails. I used a Daniel defense lt wt barrel on my wife's gun but it is pricey.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Iraqgunz
12-09-13, 15:46
Well you are going to need a barrel that has rifle feedramps and not M4 profile ones.

blackhawktech
12-09-13, 16:06
Any ideas on a good barrel?

Toyoland66
12-09-13, 22:11
You also need a non f height fsb. I don't know what your options are in a less than 20" barrel.

blackhawktech
12-09-13, 22:18
Well maybe I need to back up and punt. Just buy a A2 upper with M4 feed ramps.

az doug
12-09-13, 22:42
Green Mountain barrels are reported to be good and won't break the bank.

http://www.gmriflebarrel.com/militarysurplusriflesbarrels/ar-15--m16--m4--assault-rifle-barrels/20--556mm-m16-a2--ar-barrel,-17-twist

Although it is not optimum, you can use a barrel with M4 feed ramps on an upper with "Rifle feed ramps...M-3..." whatever you want to call them. The nose of the projectile will "step down" into the M-4 ramps on the barrel. However, you cannot use an upper with M4 feed ramps on a barrel with Rifle... feed ramps because the nose of the projectile would then have to "step up."

Iraqgunz
12-09-13, 23:03
Just an FYI. Those barrels are not HP/MPI. That is a simple finished barrel only. You have to find someone to do the testing for you.

Green Mountain barrels are reported to be good and won't break the bank.

http://www.gmriflebarrel.com/militarysurplusriflesbarrels/ar-15--m16--m4--assault-rifle-barrels/20--556mm-m16-a2--ar-barrel,-17-twist