PDA

View Full Version : .223 reload malfunctions

elwoodcg
12-22-13, 13:56
Problem:
I've had an inordinate number of my .223 reloads fail to fully chamber in my AR's lately (maybe 5-10% of the rounds). The bolt seems to strips the round off fine but the round fails to chamber fully (bolt not locked in battery). Hitting the forward assist doesn't help move the bolt into battery. I've been able to remove the stuck cartridges (live rounds) by pulling hard on the charging handle but several have been stuck to the point where they had to be mortared out.

Background:
I've been reloading for a couple years now on a turret press. Mainly doing low-volume loads with good bullets and Varget. I recently bought a Dillon 650 and am working up some "blaster" reloads with mixed brass, a mid-range load of TAC, and Hornday 55gr FMJBT bullets. I've never experienced this type of malfunction in my previous reloading. The new variables here are the 650 and the bullets. I doubt the bullets are the issue.

The primary rifle I've tried this load in is a DDM4V5 which has been 100% reliable with my previous handloads and several types of factory loads. I also tried some in a new DD MK18 and experienced some of the same issues but ran great on factory 5.56 ammo. Various PMAGS were utilized.

Observations:
I held onto 4 of the rounds that failed today. I checked them in a Dillon case gauge expecting the to be too long but 3 were definitely in spec and 1 was borderline on headspacing. OAL was fine on all rounds. The bullets themselves all have "bite" marks towards the tips like they've been gouged by the feed ramps or something. The bullets have cannelures but I don't crimp. Maybe I need a slight crimp?

Sorry for the long post. Any help figuring this out would be much appreciated.

Steel head
12-22-13, 15:26
What is your case length?
Trimmed em recently?
Same dies in you 650 as before?
What do your fired cases measure in the case gauge leading to how far are you bumping the shoulder back.