PDA

View Full Version : How many sbr owners without suppressors?

03scgt
12-29-13, 02:22
Im in between buying a suppressor now or just rolling the dice with what the atf plans to do with the trust route(my cleo wont sign).I have a aac ti9 that frankly I really dont use other than to let some of my non gun friends see its not just like the movies.Im just wondering how many of you with 10.5" or similar sbr's dont have a can to accompany it?

I dont use any of my AR's as a home defense tool and Im unsure if I really want to invest the extra time and money in something Im not sure will bring me a ton of joy.Is it a must have? would you feel left out without having one?

just trying to get some other opinions on whether or not the extra 500-1k dollars is worth it

2tonic
12-29-13, 04:22
I have cans for all my SBR's (mostly 11.5"). I have shot them without the cans, but somehow it's just more fun with 'em on.
If I was an operator who really needed the benefits of a small weapon platform for ingress/egress and mobility, I could see ditching the can.

cmv868
12-29-13, 06:57
I have a 12.5" Noveske I carry on duty without a suppressor. Nice compact, light package that makes getting in and out of vehicles, building searches, etc easier without giving up the advantages of a rifle.

ptmccain
12-29-13, 07:03
Just FYI...if you bring a SBR unsuppressed to a training class everyone WILL hate you and will let you know.

Nothing like doing room clearing live fire drills with a nit-wit with a SBR as your partner.

We were all about ready to shoot the guy by the end of the day just to put his rifle out of action.

:)

Lawnchair 04
12-29-13, 07:17
I shoot my 11.5 bcm without a can (pending surefire socom), with a surefire flash hider it's not bad but I wouldn't chose to stand next to someone shooting it for any length of time. Once the can comes through I'm throwing a brake on it, the can will be semi permanent then.

ptmccain
12-29-13, 07:19