PDA

View Full Version : Dirtbike gurus, unite and aid me in my quest!

LowSpeed_HighDrag
01-06-14, 23:50
I spent too much money on guns last year and subsequently lost sight of any other hobby. Ive decided that this year will be the year I get back on a bike. I last rode in 2004, I was a novice rider riding a 2003 XR200. That would put my current skill level at "rusty novice" to beginner. I am 6 foot 230lbs, we'll say 250lbs in full riding gear. My plans are to do about 50/50 trail and track. I have a big MX track near where I live, plus all of the OHV trails that Colorado has to offer. I have no plans to ride it on the street. My budget is up to $10k, however I'd much rather pay in the ballpark of $4-8k. I want a 4 Stroke bike with a headlight.

With the info out of the way, here are my questions:

1. With my weight, would a 250CC bike work, or should I really be on a 450?
2. Is the 450 going to be too much to handle for a beginner?
3. Is there any better option than the CRF 250/450X series that is also affordable? (I know KTM is nice, but they are very expensive).
4. Any recommendations on bikes that would fit my criteria?

Thanks gents.

cinco
01-07-14, 09:10
I actually would suggest a dual sport (street legal) 250. Don't lose much in capability with the right bike - plus you gain lights. I'm about your size and sold my heavily modified Kawasaki KLR650 - just too big for what I wanted to do. Once I get back in I'll either be getting:

1. Yamaha WR250R
2. Kawasaki KLX250S (with a big bore kit)

The Yamaha has fuel injection and is considered to be an awesome bike for bigger guys (can still run 70+) and no problems with altitude changes (no need to re-jet a carb) since it is FI.

Tons of options for picking up a nice used bike that is modded and well cared for. See the ADVRider website below - they have a great for sale section with nice bikes.

Some resources for you:

http://www.yamahawr250r.com/
http://rickramsey.net/WR250Rmods.htm