PDA

View Full Version : Bolt carrier group getting stuck in buffer tube

red_star_republic
01-14-14, 20:56
I just bought this Spike's/Adams Arms "New" gas piston upper from another member and the bolt carrier group is getting jammed in the buffer tube.

I've had to but stroke it on the ground to get it to slide forward

This is my first time dabbling with "after market" gas piston uppers so I was wondering if there is anything I can do?

Found a couple of links during a search but it still doesn't make since that my LWRC lower/buffer tube would be out of spec - right?

Any help would be appreciated

Tzintzuntzan
01-14-14, 21:34
Is this a conversion kit or a factory built AA upper? You should probably call one of those two places and see if they can get this sorted out for you since it is not normal. Then again how exactly is the BCG getting stuck in the buffer tube? Is it completely in the tube or is it sticking out a short distance?

red_star_republic
01-14-14, 21:47
Limited run Spikes/AA dedicated upper.

I can pull the entire bolt carrier group back into the tube but it will seize.

Redbeardsong
01-14-14, 21:52
Sounds like your buffer tube may not be threaded in far enough to keep the retainer pin from popping up, causing it to catch the bolt carrier when it goes past it.

Tzintzuntzan
01-14-14, 22:10
Does the lower work with other uppers? If not does the upper work on a lower that's known to work properly?

JSantoro
01-15-14, 07:54
Is it a billet upper, by any chance? Does the lower have a BAD lever, or something similar bolted on to a standard bolt catch?

The few times I've seen that sort of thing happen, and couldn't be attributed to anything else wonky with the RE or buffer retaining pin, it was because the thicker walls of a billet ANYthing, coupled with the extra thickness added to the back of a bolt catch, meant that the outer diameter of the channel in which the BCG travles impinged on the back of the bolt catch.