PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Maryland

natsb
01-17-14, 11:33
I am brand new to the world of AR. New, as in I lost my AR virginity at the range only two weeks ago. I never even shot one until then. I am not even sure how I ended up owning one other than my wife couldn't think of anything else to get me for Christmas. I have shotguns, lever rifles, and bolt rifles. So while at a gun show, my wife pointed to a table full of ARs and said "You don't have anything like those. Don't you want one?" I said "Maybe some day."

Fast forward to Christmas morning and I am opening a long thin box that is labelled "From Santa". And there it is, my first AR. As Santa was also kind enough to provide a couple of hundred rounds, I was off to the range the first week of January.

Wow! Just Wow!... How come I didn't know these things were so much fun? How come I didn't know how accurate they are? I am now an official former member of the Only-bolt-rifles-are-accurate club. For full disclosure, I used to be one of those guys who never considered an AR because they were Tinker Toys, not real rifles. I have seen the light and beg forgiveness.

Apparently, AR's are also some sort of addictive drug. I just can't stop looking for accessories even though I haven't figured out what to do with the ones that came with the rifle yet. The scope was easy, I know where that goes. I haven't come up with a comfortable location for the laser or the light. I am still scanning the forums looking for other people's opinions. As further testimony to the addictiveness of this drug... er... gun, I have already found myself shopping the net for something in a 7.62 calibre. If 5.56 is this much fun, bigger must be better. At least that is what I have talked myself into believing.

So I look forward to getting a newbie education and soaking in all the different opinions.

Cmm46
01-17-14, 12:12