PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning a resizing die for 223

SlimMan
02-03-14, 13:02
I've reloaded handgun rounds for 30+ yrs, but I'm just getting into reloading for 223/5.56. In fact I just finished my first 100 rounds. They certainly require more time investment than straight-walled pistol. But to my question, while sizing (using Imperial as my case lube), I began to wonder how fast the lube builds up in the sizing die. Using carbide dies for handgun cartridges, this really isn't a problem. But for bottleneck cartridges, is there some general guidance on how often to break down the die and clean it? Is there some indication during the resizing process that surfaces that tells me it is time to cleans?

I did run a search, but didn't find an answer (maybe just bad search terms...).

Thanks for any ideas/suggestions.

Eric D.
02-03-14, 14:08
I've never thought about case lube building up in the die. I've always been more concerned with dirt/dust/grit. Every thousand rounds or so all I've ever done is pull the decapping pin out and spin a cloth with alcohol up through the die.

markm
02-03-14, 14:28
Switch to Dillon Case Lube (DCL) for .223... Just my opinion.... it's THE most forgiving lube ever. Imperial Sizing Wax is a must have benchtop item.... but for getting after it with .223, DCL all the way.

As far as die cleaning... Maybe every 10k rounds I'll jam a q-tip up in there. Most of the trouble is and occasional piece of walnut media that snuck into the press.

Whytep38
02-03-14, 19:09
I use a lanolin/rubbing alcohol blend for lubing my cases. I've found I can lube/resize one case and have enough lube on the die to resize two more cases without having to lube them first. That saves lube and keeps buildup down. It also leaves enough lube on the die to ward off rust.

markm
02-04-14, 08:49