PDA

View Full Version : Idea: Mobile App for Shooting

cxd213
02-06-14, 20:59
I wanted to see how interested or likely people on M4C would be in utilizing a mobile application on their smartphone or tablet to assist them in logging, tracking, and evaluating their shooting sessions. I'm a software engineer with some experience in developing Android and iOS applications and an avid shooting enthusiast, so I thought I could bring my two passions together and make something beneficial to the shooting community. The basic idea I have is this:

1. User launches app and creates a new 'shooting session' for the day (date/time/location/weather are recorded automatically)

2. User starts a 'round' of shooting - this involves the user entering in the distance they'll be shooting at, their firing position (standing/prone/sitting/benched/etc) and the user must take a picture of their target prior to shooting, or load a previously used (un-shot) target image

3. User shoots target until cease fire

4. User scans their target - application automatically detects impacts and calculates metrics on the grouping(s) and stores the data

5. User repeats steps 2-4 until all shooting is completed and ends the shooting session

Sessions would be persisted on the devices storage, and would be exportable to a file (xml based). User would be able to view the historic data through the application. Application would keep overall metrics for all historical shooting sessions, and possibly graphs for charting progress over time.

So what I'm looking for are ideas and thoughts about something like I've described above. Am I missing any features you feel would be useful? How likely would you be to use something like this? Are most of you guys Android or iOS users? I appreciate all feedback and input!

mattiep321
02-06-14, 21:07
Edit: I missed the weather snapshot

Maybe add spot for reload data/chrono info...i would definitely try it.