PDA

View Full Version : OCD? Or something I should fix?

mrvip27
02-16-14, 18:32
So long story short, got this lower from grant. It came with a b5 end plate. Grant is a great guy btw. Not bashing. I have never really noticed until now but the receiver extension is rotationally crooked. The stock isn't square to the grip and everything else. It isnt drastically off...but it is a little bit annoying.

Do I have ocd? Or is it something I should fix?

If so, how? I am a noob.

Thanks!

crappy drawing for clarification:

_Stormin_
02-16-14, 18:36
Can you take a picture? I'm guessing that the drawing is a bit exaggerated.

mrvip27
02-16-14, 19:07
Yes. Let me go grab some. Ill post some soon.

Iraqgunz
02-16-14, 19:08
I think you should contact him first if you are really bothered. It appears you are since you mentioned it here.

Eric D.
02-16-14, 19:48
This isn't all that uncommon. The tab on the endplate that engages the slot in the receiver extension keeps it from rotating when the castle nut is tightened but sometimes there is a little wiggle room. It's an easy fix if it bothers you but you'll have to break the staking on the endplate.

discreet
02-16-14, 19:57
I actually find having it slight off towards the right, really isn't an issue and actually helps sort of wrap around under the arm in certain positions. It's when it's canted to the left it irks me as then the stock has a tendency to put more pressure on the chest then needed.

mrvip27
02-16-14, 20:10
This isn't all that uncommon. The tab on the endplate that engages the slot in the receiver extension keeps it from rotating when the castle nut is tightened but sometimes there is a little wiggle room. It's an easy fix if it bothers you but you'll have to break the staking on the endplate.

Well Ill still post some pics here shortly. See what you guys think.

How would you go about fixing it if I wanted to?

discreet
02-16-14, 20:15
Well Ill still post some pics here shortly. See what you guys think.