PDA

View Full Version : Newb Questions for Precision Optics

danieljmaunder
02-25-14, 22:57
Good Evening All,

I am in process of building a Precision 308 Rifle for shooting out to 1,000 Yard. I have the actual rifle specced out, but my main questions are about the optics. As stated earlier, I will be shooting out to 1.000 Yards.

I have little to no experience shooting at longer ranges so I may need some help with Mils, VS. MOA, although all my previous scopes have been MOA. The First thing I hear everyone ask, is what is your budget. My budget is $6,000 as I want to have a very nice optic So I suppose what is comes down to are

Brands,

Magnification range for maximum 1,000 Yard Shots,

The scope must have an illuminated reticle, ( I may use this for low /no light shooting )

Mils or MOA, ( I can learn to use Mils )

As stated earlier I am new to long range precision shooting so Please bear with me.

Thanks

Daniel J Maunder

jmnielsen
02-25-14, 23:57
While I'm no expert, and haven't used some of the "tier one" optics, I will give you my opinion.

I'm a huge fan of Vortex Optics, especially the fact that if you happen to have any sort of issue it can be warrantied without question. However, if I could get one scope my choice would be the SWFA SS HD 5-20x50. It's illuminated and $1500. SWFA puts out some VERY high quality optics, and I can't imagine you would need more than 20x for 1000 yards. As far as mils or MOA, I would say that it's personal preference. I do think though, that you will have more options going mil/mil.

Kenneth
02-26-14, 00:07
6 grand for just an optic. That's pure craziness.

I agree with the above about Vortex. I do not own one but never read or heard anything bad about them. Always positive experiences with them as well.

markm
02-26-14, 07:40