PDA

View Full Version : Reloading 45 acp

ar15newb
03-13-14, 15:57
Hey everyone, I am still new to reloading and have only loaded around 100 rounds for my 308. I want to reload for my 1911 and was wondering what I need to be aware of. I have read a lot about different primer sizes, military crimps, ( which I have no clue how to tell if it is military crimped or what I would need to do to get rid of them) roll crimp and taper crimp. Also all I am looking to reload is plinking rounds but i don't know what type of bullets i should be looking as or powders, let alone where to start for the amount of grains. I have a lyman 49th and hornady reloading manuals, but what do i do if i'm not using those specific bullets. Any help here would be most appreciated thanks in advance.

OldState
03-13-14, 16:17
What kind of press/setup are you using?

I used Solo 1000 for 12 years with no issues. I recently switched because it sometimes doesnt meter accurate 100%, but will probably go back. I like it because it is a clean burning power that is a little more "fluffy" than others. This is helpful because the .45 is a large shell and it is easy to double charge with powders like Bullseye.

On that note, if you are using a progressive press I HIGHLY recommend the RCBS Lockout Die if you have a spot for it.

Uses a taper crimp

I have never run into military crimps on 45 brass. But I have collected a bunch of small primer .45 brass. I first thought to toss it but some research showed reloading it doesn't really affect pressures. Now that I am loading more 9mm, it is convenient to not have to change the primer set up in my Hornady.

1911's are more picky with reloads in my experience. Find one that works in your gun and stick with it.

For an IDPA load I liked 5grs of Solo 1000 under a 230gr plated bullet. Gets me about 760FPS out of a 5" 1911 and 740fps out of an M&P FS 45