PDA

View Full Version : Your Input please G17 mods....possibly

adh
05-25-08, 15:08
I am more of a 1911 guy than otherwise, but I own and carry a G17 (sometimes) I have a 3rd gen G17 with factory night sights.

Pic attahced (got that to work this time:) )

The 1911 points and feels a lot better to me. I have also hated the sight picture on my G17 ever since I started shooting with it. So I am now considering a grip reduction and finger groove removal (by Broken Arrow Tactical as seen here on a gen I G17: https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=14556 ) and have decided to get a set of Warrent Tactical sights with a tritium front only.

So here's the question. Is it worth the investment. Someone suggested to me to just try the G19 over the G17, stating that the smaller grip may not feel as awkward to me as the G17. If any 1911 shooters out that can verify that, I'm thinking I might be better off seeing if I can swap my G17 for a G19 and just change out the sights and not make all the investment in a grip reduction that I may end up not being totally pleased with (granted it looks cool, but I'm real;ly looking for a different grip).

Hope all this makes sense. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

ADH

John_Wayne777
05-25-08, 15:46
The G19 is essentially a G17 with a little bit chopped off the end of the grip and the end of the slide/barrel assembly. The diameter of the grip is exactly the same as on the G17. The same is true for the G26.

If you are looking for a different grip feel from the G19 than you have with the G17, I don't believe you are going to get it. In my hands the G17 feels a bit better because there is more to hang on to than on the G19.

As far as modifications go, I did a little writeup about mods and parts that I find useful on Glock handguns:

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=1&f=5&t=712902