PDA

View Full Version : Please Critique My Ideal KISS AR Build

Paul Kersey
03-22-14, 14:45
AR newbie here. I want to put together a simple, reliable, all-around carbine. I plan to use it for courses, plinking, and if necessary self-defense both inside and outside the home at realistic combat distances (I live in an urban/suburban area). Plan to run primarily M193/M855 and maybe some of the heavier loadings, but would like to be able to shoot the cheap steel-cased stuff as well.

After much research, this is the setup I think I want:

BCM complete upper, 16" BHF barrel, midlength gas, 1:7 twist
BCM complete lower
Cav Arms C8 handguards
B5 Systems SOPMOD Bravo stock
Aimpoint T1 on Larue LT660 mount
Larue LT103 BUIS
Surefire G2 in Elzetta ZFH-1500 mount

Does this look like the ideal setup for my needs and preferences? Am I missing anything?

Thanks

sammage
03-22-14, 16:57
Personal preference, but I would go with a lightweight middy BCM barrel. Also, that Elzetta mount places the light at 6 o'clock - hardly an ideal position. A magpul MOR handguard with IWC flashlight mount would be a much more usable solution. Also easier to mount a sling to.

levik97
03-22-14, 16:58
Only you can decide what it will take to satisfy your needs and preferences. The only thing I would add is you may want some different ammo for defense.

Levi

Edit: I would also get a sling and you may want to look at a different hand guard. If you're willing to spend money, Centurion Arms makes really good cut-out rails that give you more length and allow you to keep the front sight post. If you're dead set on the handguard, you may want to look at the Mossie Tactics Midnight Mounts with a Surefire X300U. Be sure to buy plenty of ammo and mags.

Scrubber3
03-22-14, 17:11