PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun Sights

TacDoc
09-13-06, 09:10
Hey Shotgun fans! I'm new to shotguns. Actually I got my first one yesterday. Its a Remington 870 Synthetic 18" 12 gauge. Nice shotgun and cheap to shoot :D

My concern is with the front TINY sight. I know shotguns are far from a precision gun but I think the minuscule front sight this gun has affect pointability.

What you guys use? Any comments on the Wilson Combat Ghost Rings?

I'm kind of a "do-it-myself uncertified garage" armorer, so I'll appreciate any input on installation the different available sight systems.

Thanks in advance

Boom
09-13-06, 14:16
I love my Wilson Ghost rings but they are a pain in the butt to install correctly I would just send it to Wilson for the install if you go that route.

MMC makes a real easy bolt on set. You do have to drill and tap the receiver but thats not overly hard to do. The front is a band that bolts in place.

TOrrock
09-13-06, 16:22
I have the factory rifle sights on my Remington.....I've found that while they do aid in "precision" shooting at distances with slugs, they tend to handicap me with closer targets using shot.....I'd prefer a good ghost ring set up myself.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v613/Tim_Orrock/Sling%20Know%20How/Remington%20M870%20Police/RemingtonM870Police004.jpg

TacDoc
09-13-06, 18:37
I love my Wilson Ghost rings but they are a pain in the butt to install correctly I would just send it to Wilson for the install if you go that route.

What exactly is a PITA to install? Have to drill the receiver? Epoxy? Please give some details on the subject. At the Wilsons webpage they stated: "easy to install, instructions included" :confused:

Boom
09-13-06, 19:56
What exactly is a PITA to install? Have to drill the receiver? Epoxy? Please give some details on the subject. At the Wilsons webpage they stated: "easy to install, instructions included" :confused: