PDA

View Full Version : Help with a purchase decision (j-frame)

decodeddiesel
04-22-14, 18:48
OK, I am on the fence here and need some advice. I've managed to sell off some holsters and other crap I had sitting around and have put together some money to purchase a new firearm, or two. I have been carrying an M&P9C for 5 years now IWB and AIWB. Recently I have seen the need to supplement this pistol with a BUG/deep cover piece for work situations where carrying IWB is not possible. After a lot of research, and trying out friends' guns and rentals (LCR, LCP, Kahr 380 and 9mm, etc.) , I narrowed my choices down to a j-frame revolver. The issue is should I purchase a 442 no lock for ~$400 (after tax) and purchase a new G17 (for IDPA SSP), or try to find an M&P 340 for ~$800+ and essentially blow it all on one gun? Some talking points:

I shot 100 rounds of .38 +P FMJ out of the 340 M&P on my Birthday and absolutely fell in love with it. I've never been afraid of DA, and I shot the gun very well at 7 and 10 yards. Yeah the web of my thumb was a little sore, but I really enjoyed it and the soreness was a small price to pay.
I'm not planning on carrying .357s, rather short barrel +P Gold Dots. Still, the ability to shoot .357s and the beefier frame is appealing (even if it is painful).
I hate the sights on the 442, I consider them practically unusable. I love the sights on the 340, hitting a 3x5 at 7 yards on command was entirely doable. I will probably be adding CTC grips however.
From an aesthetics standpoint, I love the shrouded barrel on the 340. I think the 442 is beautiful in a functional way, but the 340 is just gorgeous to me.
The price gap is pretty significant, no matter how you cut it. I suppose once you figure in getting something like D&L sights on the 442 the gap closes up fast.
Weight difference seems insignificant.
.357 J-frame are damn hard to find at the moment, my preferred shop has a few no-lock 442s and 642s for $390 in the case.