PDA

View Full Version : R.I.P. Glock 23, gonna miss you

ggammell
04-22-14, 21:19
A detail strip at the range tonight led to he discovery of several broken parts. The locking block was broken in two, the trigger pin was missing a third and the locking block pin was broken in two in place. I shot it yesterday and it still fired with the broken parts inside. 6 months ago they replaced the extractor (i wore it out, it didn't break). The last detail strip was probably 18 months ago. Soon after that, I went to a Costa Ludus HE02 and blew threw 2300 rounds in three days. I've put about 150 rounds a month (at least) since then.

This gun was my first, issued to me when I graduated from the academy in December 2004. I've got probably 25,000 rounds through it. Tomorrow it gets turned back into the armory for good. They armorers might try to fix it but we are slowing buying more 22s than 23s. I'm going it miss it. At the same time, I'm happy to see it taken out of service. The last year has been filled with headaches of various kinds. (Word I got is that our chief isn't up for selling them back to officers or even trading them in for that matter).

mkmckinley
04-22-14, 21:23
Wow, interesting. Gotta get some pics of the broken parts before you turn it in.

Heavy Metal
04-22-14, 21:25
How often did you replace the Recoil Spring?

ggammell
04-22-14, 21:34
Wow, interesting. Gotta get some pics of the broken parts before you turn it in.

Tomorrow hopefully.

How often did you replace the Recoil Spring?

Well I think it's on its third. The first lasted forever (ie the armory didn't replace it for about 6 years. They may have but I doubt it). I've had two since oct 2010 (new armory management).

Heavy Metal
04-22-14, 21:40
Should have been changed ever 2,000 rounds per Glock. The original 23 was hell on them.

ST911
04-22-14, 22:04