PDA

View Full Version : New to AR/M4 Platform. Bought a Luepold!

Mike Marley
05-03-14, 08:46
Hi:

This is my first post here. A bit of background.I have been shooting handguns since I was very young (around 5 y.o.). I'm 33 y.o. and my dad is an old Korean War vet who raised me with loaded hand guns in every room in the house. So, I have a healthy respect and passion for handguns of all types; however, we really never went shooting rifles too much and by the time I was old enough to hunt, my dad's health had deteriorated to the point that he pretty much quit going.

I always wanted to start shooting rifle and just very recently after moving to Philadelphia from Pittsburgh, I got my CCP (because I live in Philly now..ha. Well, the first time I visited my car was robbed...). This rekindled my interest in guns and I bought a Sig 226 MK 25 9mm (which is my carry gun) AND after doing my homework, treated myself to a Daniel Defense M4V5.

I am still learning the platform and got a holographic 1X Lucid scope to start out with. Just yesterday my Leupold Mark AR MOD 1 Rifle Scope came in (6-18X). I got it in the Mil Dot reticle setup for some mid-range shooting and have been studying learning how the Mil Dot system/calculations work. However, I can't find which magnification setting I should be using when I do the calculations for range and windage. Their sight says its usually the highest magnification, but not always. I was frustrated because it did not specify on their website, but instead said to call to find out!!? :confused::mad:

I was hoping the experts here could give me some tips on using this scope and what magnification I should be using to run the calculations?

Thanks!

Mike

Failure2Stop
05-03-14, 11:18
Easy check:

Get 100 meters of distance.
Mark a clear 10cm line.
Whatever magnification matches 1mil to 10 cm at 100 meters is the magnification to use for mil work.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

cbx
05-10-14, 11:45